Skip page navigation

Academic Calendar
Fall 2017 (4178)     *IU Common Calendar Dates

 February 2017
Fri Feb 10 Fall 2017 Course Offerings available on-line
 March 2017
Mon Feb 27 Priority Registration Appointments available on-line via One.IU for students enrolled in Spring 2017. Students not currently enrolled will register during open registration beginning April 1st.
Mon Mar 20 Priority Registration (by appointment only) - on-line via One.IU
Continues through March 31, 2017
Mon Mar 20 Drop/Add - on-line via One.IU through the student center. Course deleted from record, no grades assigned. Continues through August 27, 2017
April 2017
Sat April 1 Open Registration (no appointment required) - on-line via One.IU.
Continues through August 27, 2017
August 2017
Mon Aug 21 * Weekday classes officially begin
Law, Med, Dent students check with your school for appropriate begin/end/refund dates
Mon Aug 21 Late Registration Fee is assessed
Wed Aug 23 Last day to Waitlist Classes (by 5:00 p.m.)
Fri Aug 25 Weekend College classes officially begin
Sun Aug 27 Last day to Register and Drop/Add on-line via One.IU through the student center
Sun Aug 27 * 100% refund period ends at midnight for regular academic session classes; go to www.bursar.iupui.edu, click "REFUNDS" and 'refund policy' for details and for a schedule of refunds for "non-standard" length classes.
Law, Med, Dent students check with your school for appropriate begin/end/refund dates.
Mon Aug 28 Enrollment Certifications - official document for verification of academic record information becomes available
Mon Aug 28 A late schedule change fee assessed in addition to course fees for each added course
Mon Aug 28 Added Courses require approval from instructor and academic advisor via the Late drop/add classes link in One.IU. Continues through October 23, 2017
Mon Aug 28 Withdrawal with automatic grade of W begins. Requires advisor approval via the Late drop/add classes link in One.IU. Continues through October 23, 2017. (Withdrawn courses WILL appear on the official transcript.)
September 2017
Sun Sep 03 * 75% refund period ends at midnight for regular academic session classes; go to www.bursar.iupui.edu, click "REFUNDS" and ‘refund policy’ for details and for a schedule of refunds for "non-standard" length classes. UCOL students or Engineering/Technology freshmen must see advisor by 5:00 p.m. the prior Friday.  In person transactions must be processed by 5:30 p.m.
Law, Med, Dent students check with your school for appropriate begin/end/refund dates.
Mon Sep 04 Labor Day Holiday (no classes - academic and administrative offices closed)
Fri Sep 08 Audit Option deadline ends (at 5:00 p.m.). Late adjustment fees will be added to audit option after August 27th.
Fri Sep 08 Pass/Fail Option deadline ends (at 5:00 p.m.) for regular academic session courses
Sun Sep 10 * 50% refund period ends at midnight for regular academic session classes; go to www.bursar.iupui.edu, click "REFUNDS" and ‘refund policy’ for details and for a schedule of refunds for "non-standard" length classes. UCOL students or Engineering/Technology freshmen must see advisor by 5:00 p.m. the prior Friday.  In person transactions must be processed by 5:30 p.m.
Law, Med, Dent students check with your school for appropriate begin/end/refund dates
Sun Sep 17 * 25% refund period ends at midnight for regular academic session classes; go to www.bursar.iupui.edu, click "REFUNDS" and ‘refund policy’ for details and for a schedule of refunds for "non-standard" length classes. UCOL students or Engineering/Technology freshmen must see advisor by 5:00 p.m. the prior Friday.  In person transactions must be processed by 5:30 p.m.
Law, Med, Dent students check with your school for appropriate begin/end/refund dates
Mon Sep 18 FLAGS - Notify Registrar to administratively withdraw students based on attendance.
Fri Sep 22 Spring 2018 Course Offerings available on-line
October 2017
Sun Oct 15 IUPUI undergraduate priority deadline for submitting a graduation application for Spring 2018 (May) graduates. For more information, visit http://registrar.iupui.edu/graduate.html
Sun Oct 15 1st 8 week classes end (Exception: "Monday only" classes end October 23rd)
Mon Oct 16 Fall Break. October 16-17th (Weekend classes October 14-15th continue to meet)
Wed Oct 18 2nd 8 week classes begin (Exception: "Monday only" classes begin October 30th)
Sun Oct 22 * Last day to withdraw with automatic grade of W. Requires advisor approval via the Late drop/add classes link in One.IU. UCOL students or Engineering/Technology freshmen must see advisor by 5:00 p.m. on the prior Friday. In person transactions must be processed by 5:00 p.m. on the prior Friday. In person transactions must be processed by 5:00 p.m. on the prior Friday.
Mon Oct 23 Withdrawal with grade of W or F begins. Advisor, instructor and dean's approvals required via the Late drop/add classes link in One.IU. Beginning on this date, drops will be approved only in serious, extenuating circumstances.
Mon Oct 23 1st 8 week classes end for "Monday only" classes
Mon Oct 23 Priority Registration using One.IU for Spring 2018 for students enrolled in Fall 2017. Continues through November 3rd.
Mon Oct 30 2nd 8 week classes begin for "Monday only" classes (other 2nd 8 week classes began 10/18/2017)
November 2017
Wed Nov 22 Thanksgiving recess begins (no classes)
Sun Nov 26 Thanksgiving recess ends (no classes)
 December 2017
Fri Dec 01 Summer 2018 Course Offerings available on-line
Fri Dec 08 Final Examinations - Common Departmental
Sat Dec 09 Final Examinations - Common Departmental
Sun Dec 10 Final Examinations - Common Departmental
Mon Dec 11 * Classes End for Monday only, Monday/Wednesday classes, and Monday/Wednesday/Friday classes
Tue Dec 12 Final Examinations- Weekday Classes
Wed Dec 13 Final Examinations - Weekday Classes
Thu Dec 14 Final Examinations - Weekday Classes
Fri Dec 15 Final Examinations - Common Departmental / Weekend College / Finals End for Weekday Classes
Sat Dec 16 Final Examinations - Common Departmental / Weekend College
Sun Dec 17 * Final Examinations - Common Departmental / Weekend College
Tue Dec 19 Faculty deadline for submitting Fall 2017 grades (submit by 8:00 p.m.)
Thu Dec 21 Official Fall Grades available in One.IU
Thu Dec 21 Official Transcripts with Fall grades available after noon